Daily Prompt: Earworm

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Earworm.”

Photograph by Ed Sheeran

Loving can hurt, loving can hurt sometimes
But it’s the only thing that I know

I think I was born to be unguarded, defenseless and vulnerable. I understand that everyone is capable of loving but not everyone likes the idea of loving because in that certain process, everyone knows the possibility of pain. But that’s the thing, it’s a yin yang kind of world. Love comes with pain, sun comes with rain, happiness comes with sadness, etc. You cannot feel the heat if you don’t know the feeling of being cold. You cannot feel happy if you were not sad at all. But how come there are times that we do not accept the fact that pain is just around the corner? It’s because we are scared of love and in loving, there’s nothing you should be scared about. Love is the only thing in this world that can make you feel happy and sad all at the same time (and basically, that’s what I feel with this song – the lines get you, youknowwhatI’msayiiinnn) so why get scared? It’s even a bonus because you have the right to feel two types of emotions all at the same time. It’s your choice of what type of emotion do you want to be governed by. Pain is a reality and it sucks but would you rather have a reality which is painful rather than a fabricated love? It’s true when it’s painful, just like your first time ;)

When it gets hard, you know it can get hard sometimes
It’s the only thing that makes us feel alive

C’mon people, how many times have you had your heart broken but still continue loving? You had numerous nightcaps with friends who keep on telling you to leave the person but in the first place, they were the ones who got excited when you guys became a couple. You had several fights and arguments with your partner but at the end of the day, you cannot imagine a day without them. Challenges in a relationship is existent and if you don’t have these, how would you get to know each other more? Not saying I’m an expert in love but I know days when there are a lot of stress and mess, and I know how it balances or distress. Take work for example; how would you know the value of being promoted if you did not master the difficulty of a job? How good does it feel being on top (not in bed, okay) because such defiance brought you there?

We keep this love in a photograph
We made these memories for ourselves
Where our eyes are never closing
Our hearts were never broken
And time’s forever frozen, still

We want to maintain a certain kind of love wherein no one can touch (but it’s too selfish don’t you think?) I think maintaining a certain kind of love should be refined by having memories. We do not make memories but we control them. Memories are made because of our choices. It’s up to you if you want to have a kind of love which is stationary or a kind of love that you crave to share and make a heartbroken person feel that it can still be kept, like nothing painful ever happened or if it did, it can still be fixed.

Loving can heal, loving can mend your soul
And it’s the only thing that I know
I swear it will get easier, remember that with every piece of ya
And it’s the only thing to take with us when we die

From whatever kind of pain you are coming from, it’s the only solution that you can use. It can be by loving another person, loving another aspect of your life (family, friends, work), loving another skill and ability (developing whatever skill you wanted ever since), loving another knowledge (reading more books, watching educational programs), and loving another idea of love (love the unloved, love the sick, love the sinner, love the same or opposite sex). Love is accepting an unspecified object or event. Let love flow through your mind, body, and soul. Once there is love, everything will be prominent and worthier.

Because it’s the only thing everyone knows, right?

Why does this song strike me so much? It’s because I may have lapses in the past or fucked up relationships (not that literally fucked okay), but I don’t know why I never get tired of loving or I never get tired of opening my heart. To some people, after they get their hearts broken, they close their legs, I mean doors – but for me? It’s still a question until now that I ask myself. Why?

Maybe my answer to myself is I think I was born to be unguarded, defenseless and vulnerable BUT I was also born to be substantial, courageous and faithful. I understand that everyone is capable of loving but maybe everyone can like the idea of loving. At least for a moment, just the idea per se because in that certain process, everyone is susceptible with the idea of pain.

Oh and by the way, the whole time I was writing this, the song was on repeat. :)

tumblr_m3kr1eQMzP1rvpshvo2_1280

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Earworm

Leave a Reply

