On What Love Is

There are times when you really cannot write about anything because your writing nerves are not working. Then you’ve come across a post (how coincidental) that you feel it’s exactly what you want to write.

So I am thanking Stella, for this beautiful entry. Thank you. Your words feed the hungry writer that I am as of the moment.

1995

Maya Angelou says, “I do not trust people who don’t love themselves and yet tell me, ‘I love you.’ There is an African saying which is: Be careful when a naked person offers you a shirt.”

Love. What a wonderful yet so scary feeling, ain’t it? It’s either you receive it or you give it. I believe that the latter is worse, for one can give it all to another person that they forget to love themselves.

I believe that you can love somebody, but not yourself. You love somebody for the things that they are and you are not. You love somebody because of the things that you don’t have. It’s a wonderful thing, yet it’s also a dangerous feeling. Yes, you can love somebody even if you still haven’t learned to love yourself yet. If not, then what am I to call the inexplicable beating of my chest…

View original post 184 more words

Leave a Reply

